The Universe Rules

When I was teenager, I always told my parents that I couldn't wait to become a grown adult so I could make the rules. Now that I am an adult, I have set 18 Universe Rules that I raise my ducklings with. Most of them are quotes from different movies and video games. I tell everyone that you could learn a life lesson from most Disney movies. 
It took me quite a few years to develope these rules. Not that I didn't have rules, I had trouble putting these rules in to words my ducklings could understand. I full heartedly believe that children have a better understanding of rules if you use something that can relate to. I didn't want to be a normal mother. I vowed to become an Alternative Mom. 
I created my Universe rules with a little bit of Disney Magic, rhymes, and other sayings that became a household saying. I plan to create house and game rules. I may even create vaction rules, because special occasions call for a little bit of controlled chaos. I always get interesting looks and reactions anyways to my parenting style. I wonder about other alternative families. How do you set rules in your household? Share with me, I would love to see them!

Leave a comment