Yoshi’s Story – Video Game History

This series is dedicated to educating fans alike. I am a huge believer in video games and raise my ducklings to be gamers of the future. Every Friday, I will post a different video game’s history. I am enjoying getting to know each video game. I have learned so much as a nerd. 

Video games were a major part of my childhood. I started playing video games at the age of four. Nintendo was my favorite. My cousins and friends had the Nintendo 64 (N64) console back in the 90s. One of my favorite N64 games was Yoshi’s Story. For a young kid, it was the cutest game I ever saw. 

Photo Credit: Nintendo

Yoshi’s Story, formerly known as Yoshi’s Story 64 (beta), is a side-scrolling platform game published and developed by Nintendo for the Nintendo 64. This adorable game was released first in Japan in December of 1997. Two months later, the world got to experience the Yoshisaurs.  

This was the first Yoshi game platformer to not be produced nor directed by Shigeru Miyamata. He did in fact contribute ideas for the game. It was directed by Hideki Konno and produced by Takashi Tezuka. The music composer was Kazumi Tokata. He also provided the voice for Yoshi in the video game.  

Photo Credit: Digital Trends

 It is a beautifully scripted storybook of the Yoshiaurs. We got to experience just Yoshi. This was the first Yoshi game without having an appearance from Mario. The developers consider Yoshi Story to be a prequel to Super Mario World 2: Yoshi’s Island. Yoshi finally gets some recognition for helping Mario. He deserved it! 

The game takes place in a 3D storybook setting. The book is created using various materials such as cardboard, fabrics, plastics, and wood. There are two different modes you can play on. Story Mode: The player goes through all levels of the game. Trail Mode: The player gets to pick the unlocked courses to play. 

Photo Credit: DiggerandIndy

I have wonderful memories of going over to a friend’s house and staying up all night just to beat the game. We had a blast. Of course, we played other games as well, but Yoshi’s Story will always hold a special place in my heart. 

Leave a comment